Home    |    Contact Us   
   -A A +A   |  


The Goa State Pollution Control Board is a STATUTORY BOARD constituted on 01/07/1988 under the Water (Prevention & Control of Pollution) Act, 1974. Prior to that the erstwhile Union Territory Goa, Daman and Diu, the Central Board for the Prevention and Control of Water Pollution was performing the functions of the State Board in Goa. The Central Pollution Control Board at Ponda Goa, established a Section Office for the purpose. The same arrangement was continued till constitution of the State Board. In the meanwhile, the Section Office of the Central Board was shifted to Baroda on 4th April 1988, to reconstitute it as a West Zonal Office. All the relevant records pertaining to Goa were transferred to the Goa State Pollution Control Board on 12th September 1988.


Shri P.V. Jayakrishnan 01/07/1988 30/05/1992
Dr. Carmo Pegado 01/06/1992 04/03/1999
Shri S.R. Sharma 05/03/1999 20/07/1999
Shri Arecio D’Souza 21/07/1999 10/04/2002
Shri Baleshwar Rai 11/04/2002 31/01/2003
Dr. L.U. Joshi 12/06/2003 08/06/2009
Dr. Simon N. de Sousa 09/06/2009 03/09/2012
Shri Jose Manuel Noronha 04/09/2012 03/03/2016
Shri R. K. Srivastava (IAS) 04/03/2016 31/12/2016
Shri Dharmendra Sharma (IAS) 01/01/2017 07/12/2017
Shri Daulat Hawaldar (IAS) 08/12/2017 25/12/2017
Shri Ganesh Shetgaonkar 26/12/2017 05/01/2022
Shri Mahesh Patil 06/01/2022 Till Date


Shri A.A. Parulekar 01/07/1988 15/08/1995
Shri H.R. Kulkarni 15/08/1995 08/06/1999
Shri Som Prakash 09/06/1999 12/07/1999
Shri A.A. Parulekar 12/07/1999 02/06/2003
Shri Suryanarayan Chary 10/06/2003 30/01/2004
Shri Amar K. Vazirani 30/01/2004 15/11/2006
Shri Ashok Daiwajna 15/11/2006 08/06/2009
Shri Srinet Kothwale 22/06/2009 08/07/2012
Shri Levinson J. Martins 09/07/2012 18/07/2018
Dr. Shamila Monteiro 18/07/2018 Till Date

The Goa State Pollution Control Board after constitution established its office at Bambolim in Goa Medical College Complex. In June 1991, the Government of Goa allotted independent premises for the Board at Patto-Panaji, where the Board office was shifted in September 1991.

The Board acquired new premises on the first floor in Dempo Tower at Patto Plaza, Panaji and shifted its full setup at this new premise on 15th August 2002.

Though the Board is not a licensing authority, its clearance is essential for every industrial proposal at two stages.

Stage 1 The entrepreneurs after getting provisional registration from the Directorate of Industries and Mines in case of small scale industries and Clearance of HPCC in case of large or medium scale industries, are required to obtain clearance of the Board before taking any step to install the plant. To obtain this clearance, the entrepreneurs should apply online his application in the prescribed form for consent to Establish in the Board Office on any working day. The application fulfilling all the requirements shall be processed within the shortest possible period and in no case issue of Consent to Establish/Consent to Operate shall be delayed by more than 45 days. The files received under each category are cleared by delegated authorithy depending the scale of the industry.

Stage 2 The Consent to Establish issued by the Board would be valid upto the commissioning of the plant or three years from the date of issue, whichever is earlier. The entrepreneur should submit his application for consent to operate in the Board office at least 30 days before commencement of the production, in a prescribed format online. The application for consent should be accompanied with a copy of the Consent to Establish and prescribed fees as mentioned in the Consent form along with all the necessary accompaniments. The application for Consent to operate also shall be processed as in the case of Consent to Establish.

It would be in the interest of the entrepreneurs to co-operate with the Pollution Control Board in carrying out its function to maintain quality of environment of the State.

Authorizations/Registrations issued By the Board

The Board as a Prescribed Authority issues Authorizations/Registrations under various Rules framed under the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986. The Rules under which authorizations are issued are stated below:-

1. Bio-Medical Waste Management Rules, 2016

2. Hazardous and Other Wastes (Management and Transboundary Movemen ), Rules, 2016

3. Solid Wastes Rules, 2016

4. Batteries (Management and Handling), Rules, 2001

5. Plastics Waste Management Rules, 2016

6. E-Waste Manangement Rules 2016

7. Construction and Demolition Management Rules 2016

Cess Returns

As per the Water (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Cess Act, 1977 as amended every industrial unit consuming 10 kilolitres of water and above are required to pay cess returns in the prescribed form with the State Pollution Control Board.

The Water (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act, 1974, The Air (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act, 1981, The Goa Water (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Rules, 1988 and the Goa Air (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Rules, 1988 and other Rules frame under the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 may be referred for more details. The Board office at Patto Plaza, Panaji also could be approached during the morning sessions for any clarification if required.

Waste Cess was abolished by Moef in 2017

For data prior to june 2023 click ARCHIVE